Winter Sick Day

Hey guys! How are you doing? I hope you guys are doing well, for me, I was sick and couldn’t go to work for 2 days 😦 It’s been really cold here in Amsterdam, the temperature’s dropped again, it’s been around -1 or -2 degree lately. And it’s snowing at the moment, as I’m drafting this blog.

I did catch a cold or flu sometimes in Indonesia, but little did I know that getting sick during the winter is SO HARD. So I had mild low grade fever (mild fever) for 2 days, and it made me feel super cold although the heater was on. And at one point, I ran out of food so I had to go to the supermarket, and it was unbearable for me, it was just too cold no matter how many layer of clothing I put on. 

While I was sick I thought about the homeless people and what if they are sick too. I mean, where do the homeless people stay during the winter? I might not know the answer, but it’s really sad just thinking about it.

Today I will share how I battle through my fever & sore throat during this winter, I hope some of you might find it useful.

1. Rest

I don’t think I can stress enough the importance of sleep when you’re having a fever or flu. The reason why our body even got sick is because our body got weaker and tired, so our body couldn’t fight the virus that circling around us through out the day. Give your body a chance to recover by resting, take a day off from your busy life and just sleep. Trust me, you’ll feel a lot better the next day.

2. Eat Well

Some people lose appetite when they’re sick, it happens to me a lot too. But without food in our system, our body is not getting the nutrients that it needs, hence a lower immune system, so how can we battle the virus? Try eating something that’s light and easy to be digested, such as porridge or soup. I love chicken soup whenever I’m sick, and I want it spicy because often times there’s a weird taste in my mouth whenever I’m sick. I also make sure I eat veggies and fruits, it’s very refreshing to eat those things whenever I’m sick.

Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset
My home-cooked chicken soup. Very simple and easy to make, taste sooo good as well.

3. Medicine & Vitamins

I really hate taking medication, but sometimes I just have to because I’m too sick to choose otherwise. If you are taking medication, be sure to follow the instruction and drink plenty of water. I would also suggest taking vitamins, particularly vitamin C, to help the immune system recover.

Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset
These are medicine and vitamin that I brought from Indonesia. Fludane is a flu medication that my family usually get whenever we got it. CDR is a  calcium supplement but it has 1000mg vitamin C

4. Natural Remedies

As I mentioned, I hate taking medicine. I prefer natural remedies rather than consuming chemicals. There are numerous types of natural remedies out there, from using garlic to honey, you can choose which ever you prefer. For me, I love my own made-up immune booster tea, which consists of ginger, lemon and honey. Mix all the 3 ingredients, let it sit in a hot boiling water for about 5 minutes, then it’s ready to be served. It tastes so good, and it’s safe to drink it early in the morning before breakfast. Another natural ingredient that I love is orange, so I usually drink freshly squeezed orange juice whenever I have flu. I’m too lazy to squeeze the oranges on my own, but luckily the supermarket near my apartment sells freshly squeezed orange juice.

Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset
Ginger, lemon & honey are my favourite. You may adjust which one is the more dominant flavour according to your preference.
Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset
My own Immune-Booster Tea
Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset
Freshly squeezed orange juice. Sinaasapple means orange in Dutch. Funny, it sounded more like Apple than orange, don’t you think?

4. Stay Warm!

Some people are accustomed to the cold weather, some people however, are just not. I came from Bali, where the sun shines bright 90% time of the year. So when I got here  my body was in shock. Imagine coming from a 30 degree island to a 2 degree city! Plus the wind and the snow! So my advice for people who are facing the same problem like me, wear warm clothes. Forget about fashion and take care of your body, at least until you have adjusted, which means different amount of time for different person. After a week I was already okay with the weather here, but then I still got sick. I recommend wearing thermal under garment, warm knitted sweater on top of it, thick winter coat, scarf, a beanie and gloves. Also wear thermal legging underneath your jeans on a really cold day, it helps a lot.

Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset
Always wrapped like a human-burrito since I got here.

5. Relax

Sometimes, we can be physically fit but still got sick anyway. That’s probably because we are too stressed or pressured, our body couldn’t take the tension anymore and just fell ill. Stress can lead to sleep deprivation and lost of appetite, which give way for the virus to enter our perfectly fit body. Close your eyes, take a deep breath and just lie down for a while. I know that life is not easy, but there’s no problem that can’t be solved, all it takes is some time, so don’t give up. Listen to your favourite song, watch your favourite movie or talk to your most favourite person. Whenever I’m down, I like to think about my late mom. Her life was an inspiration for me, she battled lung cancer LIKE A BOSS. If someone who was suffocating and couldn’t breath could still encourage the healthy to never give up, how could I not be motivated? So just relax, pray if you are religious, or take a walk on the beach or at the park and enjoy the fact that you are still breathing, it means you still have the chance to make things right again.

16730008_1772825226378314_2081633943_n
Remember this! ❤

So that’s it for my winter sick day ‘guide’? I hope it could help somehow. I’ll talk to you guys again soon!

Dreams are powerful…so wake up and make it happen!

Eat well and rest well, stay healthy and happy during this winter!

Sending you warm hugs,

Pink

 

Leave a Reply

