Volendam Escapade

Hi guys! How was your weekend? Mine was so much fun, I hope yours was fun too. I went to Volendam and it was such a beautiful place. My friend and I took a bus from Amsterdam Central Station, the moment we arrived I was just in awe! However, the weather was very gloomy, so it was foggy and cold. Due to the fog, I wasn’t able to see the sea clearly and the pictures that I took are pale since there was no color at all in the sky. Nevertheless, I really enjoyed the trip and had so much fun.

Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset
The first impression after we got off the Bus
Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset
Super foggy day

For those who have never been here, Volendam is a very famous tourist attraction here in the Netherlands. It’s a harbor with a beautiful village. It is well known for its old fishing boats and traditional clothing. However I couldn’t really capture the beauty of the old fishing boat because it was just too foggy, but I did take a nice photo wearing the traditional clothing.

2017-02-05-10.17.12-1.jpg.jpg
This was a fun photo shoot, but I look so fat hahaa

 There is a regular ferry going to Marken, a nearby peninsula, but due to the bad weather I choose to skip that tour.

We went to a cheese factory too while we were there, it’s a cheese heaven and they provide testers that you can taste for almost all kinds of cheese that they sell there. 

Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset
First view from the cheese factory entrance
Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset
Cheese heaven
Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset
They have the cheese museum as well, and demonstration of cheese-making

I also tried one of the Dutch delicacies, Herring. It’s a raw fish with chopped onion, a bit salty, but I really really enjoyed it. If you’re not fond of raw fish then you won’t enjoy it. But it’s something that you should try at least once, if you ever come to the Netherlands. It’s the signature dish of the Netherlands, so I strongly suggest people to try it. I heard that the Herring season is on June, but it’s available all year round.

Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset
I’m so sorry but I don’t have a clear shot of it hehee
Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset
Me munching on my herring

It was a really awesome trip. I really enjoyed my visit to Volendam and I hope those who haven’t got a chance to visit the Netherlands will one day find their way to come here.

I guess that’s it from my trip to Volendam, I’ll talk to you guys again in my next post. 

Dreams are powerful, keep dreaming..but please wake up and make it happen!

Sending you loads of x’s and o’s,

Pink

Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset
Walking down the street of Volendam

Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset
Old chees, anyone?
Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset
What an interesting section
Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset
More cheese…..
Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset
Herring stall
Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset
Fresh raw fish yum!
Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset
Poffertjes
Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset
Waffles
Processed with VSCOcam with f1 preset
Will I ever be able to take a straight photo? 
Leave a Reply

